Camp Wilderness Sunrise

Easy Winter Meals: Raclette

Leave a comment

I’ve already posted about one of my favorite, easy winter recipes to make at Camp, Cheddar Onion Beer Fondue. I’d love to tell you that’s an old Swiss recipe from a trip I took to Interlaken in college, but I’d be lying. The recipe I like to make at Camp in the winter that WAS inspired by that trip to Switzerland is Raclette. My best friend and I backpacked around the area and after a day spent exploring, we found the one restaurant in town that was open. The only thing they were serving? Raclette. I’d never heard of it, but it quickly became a favorite. Whenever Sarah and I got together for a snowy weekend as adults, we’d recreate that magical week and make Raclette. Then we had kids and the tabletop grill became a little dangerous and the process a little arduous, so I made up this cheater’s version. It’s just as yummy and our dog Eiger (named after the mountain we visited on that same trip!) still tries to steal it because it smells soooo good.

1 5lb bag of yukon gold potatoes

1 wedge of raclette cheese (use gruyere if you can’t find it, but most well-stocked national chain grocers carry it; at last check Shaheen’s IGA in Tupper Lake doesn’t carry it, but they do carry gruyere)

1/4 lb thinly sliced prosciutto

1 vidalia onion

3-4 cloves garlic

1/2 stick butter

Spicy Pickles (I like Wickles brand) or hot pepper rings, to serve

1. Clean your potatoes, then quarter them and parboil. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Drain the potatoes and add to a casserole dish. Mix in diced onion and garlic and half of the butter. Top with thinly sliced raclette and prosciutto, then the rest of the butter.

3. Bake about 30 minutes until crispy and bubbly. Serve with spicy pickles and good red wine.

My kids love this (minus the spicy pickles) and it’s the perfect cozy winter meal. You could serve with a mixed green salad or roasted veggies.

Leave a Reply

